New Baby, Old Poem

Micah Pardon made his arrival nearly two months ago! Consequently, it’s been a while since all the variables have lined up for me to write and publish a blog post. For the first couple of weeks, the fatigue of recovering and caring for a newborn resulted in less emotional and intellectual juice for writing. (Or maybe staring at my phone all day while nursing took a toll on my brain cells.) Then, after I started feeling more like myself, we went on a long road trip to visit family in North Dakota. Now I’m back but still don’t have much content ready, so I thought it would be a good time to dig up an old poem. Today’s post will be a little different: I’ll start with a few pictures and a brief update and then I’ll share a poem I wrote in 2019. It’ll be disjointed, but that’s life right now.

Micah’s birth was a wonderful experience. I had thought Hosanna’s birth was good, but there were multiple factors–waterbirth, having Caleb more involved and the midwife less involved, listening to music, holding a crucifix during contractions–that made this second homebirth even better. I couldn’t have asked for a better birth. (Okay, maybe I would have liked him to come by the due date, and I could have done without the false alarms of pre-labor, but overall it was amazing.) We are so thankful to God for the safe arrival of this little guy!

The baptism was an exciting day for all of us. Members of both our families, as well as a dear friend from our home congregation in Tennessee, made the trip to meet Micah and witness his baptism. Thanks be to God for bringing little Micah into His kingdom!

Hosanna loves being a big sister. She is the sweetest and most enthusiastic little helper!

***

And now–I warned you this would be disjointed–for the poem. I can’t take full credit for this one because the first phrase came from a conversation with Caleb. He said something on one of our dates about “reveling and resting” in Christ. I loved the alliteration and decided it belonged in a poem. I wrote it a few weeks later while visiting some wonderful friends. Their trust in God’s faithfulness in the midst of suffering and loss provided the backdrop for the poem, especially the line about “trials of the night.”

Solus Christus

Reveling and resting in the risen, reigning Christ,

Every day delighting in His mercy and His might,

Treasuring and trusting Him in trials of the night,

Listening to the Lord of Love who speaks, and all is light.

With Him I am crucified–my Christ, my King, my All.

With Him I am raised anew and “Abba! Father!” call.

By His Spirit I shall walk, for in my strength I fall.

On His faithfulness I rest, for my own faith is small.

3 thoughts on “New Baby, Old Poem

Leave a comment